The Longhorn Alumni Band leadership is made up of volunteer members of the organization, including officers, a Board of Directors, a Board of Trustees, and Committees.

Elected positions are filled at the annual meeting. Interested in serving? Please get in touch!

2020-2021 LHAB Officers

Jeanne YturriPresident
Jack GreenPresident-Elect
Heather KnolleImmediate Past President
Jo Lyn PetersVice President
Cynthia WrenAssistant Vice President: Treasurer
Christy BarrientosAssistant Vice President: Communications
Michelle OestrickAssistant Vice President: Secretary
David WheelerAssistant Vice President: Librarian
Ben SchneiderAssistant Vice President: Technology
Lisa VasquezAssistant Vice President: Registrar
Eddie MartinezAssistant Vice President: KKY Liaison
John PurdyAssistant Vice President: LHB Liaison
Randall StormAssistant Vice President: Equipment
Barbara HelbertAssistant Vice President: Archives
George MoxleyAustin Area Rep
Michael HaeckerDallas Area Rep
Jeanne SouthernHouston Area Rep
Vicky GuerraRio Grande Valley Area Rep
Shirley CumbySan Antonio Area Rep
Geof SloanNational Association of Alumni Bands Liaison
Joe DahlstromParliamentarian

2020-2021 LHAB Appointed Assistants

David WheelerMerchandise Coordinator
George MoxleyAssistant Treasurer
Naman ModiAssistant Communications
Ronnie BurtAssistant Technology
Michelle McGuireAssistant Technology
Amy Kibler-ThomasAssistant Registrar & TBS Liaison
Matt AfflerbaughAssistant Austin Area Rep
Kathy O’ConnorAssistant Dallas Area Rep
Eddie SpinksAssistant Houston Area Rep
Scott Johnson Assistant Houston Area Rep
Joaquin “JJ” ZamoraAssistant Rio Grande Valley Area Rep
Gabe Durand-HollisAssistant San Antonio Area Rep

The Board of Directors (“BOD”) of the Longhorn Alumni Band is responsible for the management and administration of LHAB, overseeing LHAB activities. The BOD receives updates from the LHAB President and discusses policy matters during the meetings. The BOD reviews and approves the budget and incoming officer nominations list, which are presented to LHAB members at the annual Band Day reunion.

David Carter (Chair)
Jeanne Yturri (LHAB President)
Don Haynes
Karissa Horton
Christi Lotz
Sara Beth Purdy
Kyle Walker

The Board of Trustees (“BOT”) of the Longhorn Alumni Band Charitable Fund manages and administers the Longhorn Alumni Band Charitable Fund, a non-profit foundation dedicated to scholarship and other financial support for the Longhorn Band and its students. The BOT works to solicit and maintain financial support for scholarships, including the establishment of named scholarships that honor former members, friends, or supporters of the Longhorn Band, as well as ongoing and annual campaigns in support of the Longhorn Band and its students. In addition, the BOT works with the Longhorn Band and The University of Texas to advise and assist in the process of awarding scholarships established by the Longhorn Alumni Band Charitable Fund. For additional information, please contact any of the board members.

Kent Kostka – President
Jo Lyn Peters – Treasurer
Cathy Sorsby – Secretary
Bill Phillips III
Greg Wilson

Numerous members who are not officers help with ongoing LHAB activities through various active committees. Below are current committees and participants.

Nominating Committee
Heather Knolle, Past President & Chair
John Bregger
Kathy Crain
Tadd Lanham
Kathy Rider

Code of Ethics Committee
Kathy Rider, Chair
Jeff Hartsock
Nick Schroeder

Properties Committee
Randy Storm, Equipment VP & Chair
George Green, Big Flags
Paul Scully, Percussion
Chuck Garner
Mike Haecker

Logo, Emblem and Seal Committee
Michelle Oestrick, Secretary & Chair
Cathy Purdy
John Purdy

Scholarship Committee
Jo Lyn Peters, Vice President & Chair
Shirley Cumby
Jack Green
Kent Kostka
Christi Lotz
David Wheeler

Archives Committee (President-Appointed)
Barbara Helbert, Archives VP & Chair
Catherine Whited
Jerry Hayes
George Moxley
Alan Ford
Delia Botbol